New Zealand announce squad for England Test series, Captain Kane Williamson returns

Spread the love

New Zealand will play three test match series in England starting from June 2, 2022. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson will return to Test squad after missing series against Bangladesh and South Africa last year with an elbow injury. He is playing in IPL at the moment for Sunrisers Hyderabad.  Williamson, Southee, Boult, Conway and Mitchell are expected to miss at least two pre-series tour matches as they will join the squad late because of IPL commitments.

New Zealand will be without the services of BJ Watling and Ross Taylor, they retired after the SA series.

They have a good pace attack in Southee, Wagner, Boult and Jamieson and should enjoy bowling in England. T Blundell has been added to the squad as a specialist wicketkeeper.

(Image credits: twitter)

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said, “The red-ball tour of England first up is clearly high on our priority list and we’re looking forward to hitting the ground running over there in a couple of weeks time.”

“There’s a reason we’ve only ever won a couple of Test series over there and we know we’ll have to be at our very best to do it again,” he added.

New Zealand’s squad for England tour: 

K Williamson (c), W Young, T Blundell (wk), B Tickner, T Boult, M Bracewell, D Conway, T Latham C de Grandhomme, J Duffy, , H Rutherford, C Fletcher, K Jamieson, M Henry, D Mitchell, H Nicholls, R Ravindra, T Southee, N Wagner, A Patel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *