INDW vs SLW 2nd T20I: Harmanpreet, spinners script comfortable win over Sl-W. 2-0 up in 3T20I series.

Spread the love

Sri Lanka Women – 125/7

India Women – 127/5

India Women won by 5 wickets 

Playing XIs:

India: Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, S Meghana, Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Jemimah Rodrigues, Yastika Bhatia (Wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Deepti Sharma, Renuka Singh, Simran Bahadur, Radha Yadav

Sri Lanka: Vishmi Gunaratne, Chamari Athapaththu (C), Harshitha Madavi, Hasini Perera, Kavisha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Anushka Sanjeewani (WK), Oshadi Ranasinghe, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani

Chamari Athapaththu won the toss for Sri Lanka Women and decided to bat first. Vishmi Gunaratne and Chamari Athapaththu added 87 runs for the first wicket. Vastrakar gave India the first breakthrough in Athapaththu when she was caught on square leg while trying to flick. She made 43 runs in 41 balls with 7 boundaries and a six. Vishmi Gunaratne  scored 45 off 50 balls.

Photo: BCCI Women

Once these two players got out. Indian bowlers were all over Sri Lankan batters. They could only score 125 in 20 overs. Out of these runs 87 were added for the first wicket. It was poor show from Sri Lanka batters today. Deepti Sharma took 2 for 34 in her 4 overs. Renuka Singh, Radha Yadav, Pooja Vastrakar and Harmanpreet Kaur took 1 wicket each.

Chasing a low score of 126, India had a positive start. Shafali Verma  and Smriti Mandhana added 30 runs for the opening wicket. Shafali Verma was striking well but she got out after scoring a brisk 17 of 10 with couple of boundaries and a six. Smriti Mandhana looked in great touch today. She scored 39 from 34 balls with 8 boundaries. India chased down the total in the 20th over and won the match by 5 wickets. Harmanpreet Kaur stayed not out on 31 off 32 balls.

Oshadi Ranasinghe took 2 for 32 in 4 overs while Inoka Ranaweera took 2 for 18 in her 4 oves.

With this win India Women won the T20I series with a game to spare.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *