IND-W vs SL-W 3rd T20I: Sri Lanka Women won by 7 wkts, IND-W takes series 2-1.

Spread the love

IND-W – 138/5

SL-W – 141/3

Sri Lanka Women won by 7 wickets.

Playing XIs:

India: Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, S Meghana, Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Jemimah Rodrigues, Yastika Bhatia (WK), Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Renuka Singh, Simran Dil Bahadur, Radha Yadav

Sri Lanka: Chamari Athapaththu (C), Vishmi Gunaratne, Harshitha Madavi, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Anushka Sanjeewani (WK), Malsha Shehani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera

Harmanpreet Kaur won the toss for India Women and elected to bowl first in the third T20I.

Shafali Verma was out in the first over after scoring 5. Smiriti Mandhana and Meghna added 41 runs for the second wicket in tough conditions. Both players got starts but could not carry on for a bit longer. Mandhana was out after scoring a brisk 22 in 21 balls while Sabbhineni made 22 of 26 balls.

Photo: Sri Lanka Cricket

Harmanpreet Kaur and Rodrigues scored 64 runs between them to take India to a respectable total of 138/5 in 20 overs.

Jemimah Rodrigues made 33 off 30 balls with 3 boundaries. Harmanpreet stayed not out after scoring 39* off 33 balls with a six and 3 boundaries. Sugandika Kumari, Ama Kanchana, Oshadi Ranasinghe and Inoka Ranaweera took a wicket each for Sri Lanka Women.

While chasing, SLW lost their opener Vishmi Gunaratne  in the very first over for 5. Captain Chamari Athapaththu stitched a very important partnership of 77 runs with Nilakshi de Silva for the 4th wicket. De Silva was run out after she scored 30 off 28 balls. Chamari was in brutal mode today. Being pride at stake, she smashed her half century in just 29 balls.

Chamari Athapaththu finished with 80* in just 48 balls and won the match for Sri Lanka with 18 balls to spare. Chamari hit 1 six and 14 boundaries in her innings. India won the T20I series 2-1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *